Fast Web Design Parnell

Fast Web Design Parnell

Fast Web Design Parnell


The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center, Theatre Without Borders, The H.E.A.T. Collective, and Tamizdat join forces to present the Theater & Resistance Symposium livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 12 January at 9:00 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 14:00 GMT (London, UTC +0) / 15:00 CET (Berlin, UTC +1) / 16:00 EET (Beirut, UTC +2) / 22:00 PHT (Manila, UTC +8). Follow @HowlRound on Twitter for updates, and use #howlround.

The Theater & Resistance Symposium is a timely community conversation exploring the challenges and power of progressive activist theater. At this cultural moment many in the arts are seeking ways to bring activism into their work; this symposium will be a platform for sharing ideas and resources. It will inform, empower, recharge, facilitate, and inspire.

A selection of resistant theatre projects from around the world will present their work as examples; leading activist artists will discuss the challenges and successes; experts will present on diversity, climate and sustainability, artist rights, artist mobility, and public and board relations. An open discussion will follow. The Symposium is for artists and administrators alike, and is designed to build communities across borders, genres, and disciplines. We will share best practices and learn from our colleagues in the U.S. and abroad.

Scheduled speakers and panelists include: Chen Alon, Chantal Bilodeau, Matthew Covey, David J. Diamond, Lilly Fellman, Catherine Filloux, Sanjoy and Sima Ganguly, Sue Hamilton, Frank Hentschker, Souliman Khatib, Julia Levine, Jessica Litwak, Jonathan Meth, Dijana Milosevic, Issa Nyaphaga, Deepa Purohit, Martha Redbone, Ari Roth, Katy Rubin, Nisha Sajnani, Saviana Stanescu, Julie Trebault, Nia Witherspoon, Mia Yoo, and more.

Livestream Schedule:

9:00-9:20 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5):
Introductions

9:20-10:30 a.m. EST:
Case Studies: “What are we doing?”
Sue Hamilton & Jessica Litwak, (Artists Rise Up LA/NY)
Issa Nyaphaga (Radio Taboo, Cameroon)
Dijana Milosevic (Dah Theater, Serbia)
Soulamaina (Yes Theater, Palestine, West Bank)
Katy Rubin (Theatre of the Oppressed NYC, NY)
Sanjoy and Sima Ganguly, (Jana Sanskriti, India)
Lilly Fellman, (Arts Rights Justice, EU)
Soulaiman Khatib and Chen Alon (Combatants for Peace, Israel/Palestine)
Jonathan Meth, (The Fence, UK)
Iman Aoun, (Ashtar Theater, Palestine, Gaza)
Mia Yoo, (La Mama, NY)
Derek Goldman (Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics, DC)

10:30-11:30 a.m. EST:
Artist Conversation, moderated by David J. Diamond
Catherine Filloux
Jessica Litwak
Saviana Stanescu
Martha Redbone
Nia Witherspoon
Deepa Purohit
Ty Jones

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EST:
Presentation: Theatre & Diversity
Emilya Cachapero, Theatre Communications Group
Nisha Sanjani, NYU Drama Therapy Department

Presentation: Artist Rights & Mobility
Matthew Covey, Tamizdat
Julie Trebault, PEN America

Presentation: Climate & Sustainability
Julia Levine, Climate Change Theater Action
Chantal Bilodeau, Climate Change Theater Action

Presentation: Producing & Activism
Ari Roth, Mosaic Theater

12:30-12:40 p.m. EST:
What do can we do?
Frank Hentschker, Martin E. Segal Theatre Center

12:40-1:30 p.m. EST:
Open Discussion, moderated by Jessica Litwak

***

source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *